Hazel Knits, Wollmeise-First Impressions

09Sep09

Oh hi! I have been busy knitting, enjoying Dani’s posts and loving the feedback from everyone. Right now I am at a breaking point in the 4 pairs of socks on the needles, so I thought I would post about these yarns that I am dying to cast on with.

I got this hank of Hazel Knits “High OcTANG” a few months ago. I love the varegated orange and have been keeping it for a special project or next month’s Cookie A’s in the KAL on Ravelry or maybe “Firestarter” by Yarnissima or (the list could go on really). Maybe we could have a poll! By the feel of the yarn, it seems to be a good sturdy sock yarn that can handle a bit of abuse. It also has a bit of stretch which is perfect for my size 11 wide feet (thanks family genes!). 

Hazel Knits High Octang

Now for the Wollmeise that seems nearly impossible to get and must be made out of unicorn hair, hopes, dreams, smiles, rainbows and a lucky penny from 1923. I wound my Orient (pictured below in its former mint condition). The colors truly are fabulous and I want to throw every other project away so I can cast on with it. It was worth stalking ebay, the Wollmeise ISO boards and the for sale/trade pages on Ravelry.

I saw another pair of Kai-Meis done in this colorway and I loved them. My only concern about the yarn is the stretch to it. It seems to have a tight twist to the yarn and I am concerned about using my normal size 2s to knit top down. As I cast on, I will probably have an ongoing post about knitting with the beloved Wollmeise.

wollmeise_orient_medium

No Responses Yet to “Hazel Knits, Wollmeise-First Impressions”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

